Hardcover: 576pp

Publisher: Eye Books; 1st edition (21 Oct. 2011)

ISBN-13: 978-1908646002

Product Dimensions: 23.6 x 15.5 x 5.1 cm

At the Deep End

Morgan Tsvangirai


As a founding member and leader of Zimbabwe’s main opposition party, the Movement for Democratic Change, Morgan Tsvangirai came to prominence in the late 1990s. Over the next ten years he would be harassed, tortured, charged with treason and labelled a traitor, but he would also come to be globally regarded as a courageous and indefatigable symbol of resistance in the face of brutal repression. From teenage mine worker, to trade union leader, to Prime Minister of Zimbabwe in a coalition government, this autobiography traces Tsvangirai’s political development and activism, laying bare the challenges and frustrations of his political life, up to and including the power-sharing agreements with President Robert Mugabe.

Morgan Tsvangirai: At the Deep End is the story of a man who, through everything he endured, remained committed to working for peace and democracy for all in ins country, and in the process became a beacon of hope for a beleaguered nation.

Written in collaboration with his spokesperson, veteran journalist and editor T. William Bango, this book contains rich documentation of both its subject's political career and of the changing socio-historical context of Zimbabwe.







Writing in the last days of Robert Mugabe's tyrannical rule, Eye Books publisher Dan Hiscocks recalls the experience of collaborating with Morgan Tsvangirai on his autobiography.


Morgan Tsvangirai

Morgan Tsvangirai was the leader of Zimbabwe's Movement for Democratic Change.

He won the disputed first round of the 2008 presidential election with 47.9 percent of the vote, but boycotted the mandatory run-off after widespread violence against his supporters.

He was later appointed prime minister, nominally sharing power with President Robert Mugabe – an arrangement which lasted until 2013.

He died in February 2018, three months after Mugabe finally left office.

selected works

more titles coming soon...